Skip to main content

Role management

Last updated 10/03/2026

A role contains operation permissions for a set of features. Once a member is associated with a role, the member has the corresponding feature permissions.

Custom roles in the Analytics & Engage platform can be granted feature permissions in the Analytics suite and the Engage suite. Permission options of the Engage suite are shown or hidden depending on whether the cluster has purchased Engage

Special roles​

AE has the following two special roles:

  • Root (ROOT account): Has all feature permissions in AE and can manage all projects.
  • Project Owner: In each project, 1 member can be set as the Project Owner, and this member then has all feature permissions in the project.

Create a role​

Go to the Project Settings - Role Management page to view all roles in the current project

Click +Custom Role to create a new custom role

On the role creation page, the left side shows the navigation of suites and feature modules, and on the right side you can select the feature options that the role needs

Permission dependencies: Some permissions cannot exist on their own and require prerequisite permissions, for example:

  • Edit permission depends on view permission, for example, the Edit permission and View permission of currency properties
  • Advanced edit permission depends on basic edit permission, for example, Permission to edit others' alert tasks depends on Permission to edit your own alert tasks

When you select permissions on the page or click Save, the system prompts you about the dependent permissions that are currently missing. Select them as prompted

Prompt to add dependent permissions

Delete an analysis role​

When you delete an existing analysis role, some members may already be associated with it. You need to set a replacement role for these members to use after the role is deleted.

Note: If no role is available as a replacement, the current role cannot be deleted, to avoid abnormal member role logic.

Replacement confirmation for role deletion

Roles shared across projects​

If you need the same custom role in multiple projects, the Root user can set up shared custom roles that apply to all projects in System Management - Role Management to reduce repetitive work. Once set up, these roles can be used in any project.

Was this page helpful?