Skip to main content

Journey management

Last updated 10/03/2026

This article describes how to manage journeys.

Journey status​

The following figure shows how a journey's status changes:

View original image

Supported actions​

Journey statusDescriptionEditApprovalPauseResumeFinishDelete JourneyCopyView Details
DraftEnters the draft status after you save a draft√√√√
ApprovingEnters the approval status after you save and submit√√√
RejectedEnters the rejected status after the approval is rejected√√√√
RegisteringApproved, but the related data is still being prepared√√
Failed (registration)Changes from Registering to the registration failed status√√√√
PendingApproved, but the canvas entry start time hasn't been reached yet√√√√
RunningApproved, and the canvas entry start time has been reached√√√√√
PausedEnters the paused status after you click Pause in the Pending or Running status√√√√√
FinishedChanges to Finished after the journey is finished manually or its end time is reached√√√
Test journeys

If you choose a test run, the journey can't be edited while it's in the test run or paused status. You can finish the journey directly and create a new test version, or submit the canvas to go live officially.

Operations​

ActionDescription
Pause
  • When you want to optimize the journey configuration and pause the current journey's execution, you can pause the journey. While the journey is paused:
    • Entry paused: users can't newly enter the journey
    • Delivery paused: while the journey is paused, users who flow into an action push node exit the journey, and the touch action isn't executed
  • When you pause the journey, if you want the user instances currently flowing through it to exit, you can choose to force exit the entered instances.
Resume
  • A paused journey can be resumed.
Edit
  • You can change content such as node names or push content copy on top of the current journey configuration, or create a new version to adjust the journey design. For details, see Journey versions.
Finish
  • You can finish a journey manually. After you finish it, all instances in the journey exit and no longer run.

Journey versions​

After a journey is approved and goes live, you can change the current journey design in two ways:

  • Edit the current version
  • Create a new version

Edit the current version​

On the journey management page, click Edit for a journey to open the journey editing page. By default, you edit the current journey settings. You can edit:

  • Journey name/description and node names
  • Journey end time
  • Add journey goals, and modify journey goal names and descriptions
  • Action nodes: modify the push content copy
  • A/B test nodes: add/modify experiment metrics and the activation event

After you submit the edits, you can view the change records below the journey on the journey list page. Records marked Update Content are updates to the current version.

Editable scope

This mode allows changes only to settings that don't affect journey execution. Changes that affect how the journey runs (such as editing the target audience, modifying behavior rules, or adding/deleting nodes) aren't supported.

Create a new version​

If you want to redesign the journey, or the mode above doesn't meet your adjustment needs, click the upper-left area of the editing page and select to create a new version.

In new version mode, only the following can't be changed:

  • Journey timezone
  • Journey entry method
  • Journey start time

After you save and submit the new version, you can view the change records below the journey on the journey list page. Records marked New version are changes that created a new version.

Multiple versions

After the new version is approved and goes live, users enter according to the new version. User instances that already entered the journey under a historical version keep running according to that version's journey design until they exit the journey.

When you view node execution data, the node data is counted and shown by version.

Version and instance management​

Click the journey name to open the journey details page. In the upper-right corner of the page, you can view all versions of the journey and the running status of each version's instances. Click Version History to view version creation details:

For historical versions that still have running instances, the version instance status is Running. You can manually choose to make the user instances of a specified version exit. After they exit, the version instance status changes to Finished.

Permissions​

The role permissions for journeys are as follows:

FeaturePermissionDetailsEngageData EngineerEngage Admin

Journey

ViewView the journey list and journey details.√√√
EditCreate, edit, save and submit, withdraw approval, pause, resume, finish, and delete journeys, and edit the group a journey belongs to√√
ManageManage other users' journey assets, and add or delete journey groups√
Was this page helpful?